This collection is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, grief, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection. Please seek professional help if these sensitive topics are affecting your daily health and happiness.

My Review

Thank you to Megan for sending me a copy of her book through. I previously reviewed Megan’s first poetry collection, Cracked Open, which I gave 4 stars.

Poetry is something I have gotten more and more into as the years have gone by and the more collections I read, the more I appreciate it. Where I Ache covers quite a few hard-hitting subjects, some of which I really related to. There is a list of trigger warnings in the beginning of the book which I think is a good and necessary addition, including (but not limited to) Depression, mental illness, self-harm, grief, violence, substance abuse, body image.

Some of my favourite poems from this collection are:


Battle Day

No Evil

The Repair Man


I’ve Got More Than Jiggles Going For Me

That’s Me

This collection covers a lot of real-life issues and although can be a hard pill to swallow at times, is also very relatable. Megan’s writing style is brilliant, several times I had to put the book down and wonder whether she’d just seen into my soul.

I highly recommend this collection. I gave it 4/5 stars.

Steph xoxo